Skip to content
Curtin University
Curtin Business School

Australian Journal of Labour Economics

The Centre for Labour Market Research (CLMR) holds copyright and publishes the Australian Journal of Labour Economics. This is the official Journal of the Australian Society of Labour Economists.

The Australian Journal of Labour Economics (AJLE) is a forum for the analysis of labour economics and labour relations. It is particularly focused on theoretical and policy developments in respect of Australian labour markets. Interdisciplinary approaches are encouraged.

The AJLE invites submissions of articles in the following areas in labour economics, industrial relations and personnel economics. The following areas are of particular interest:

  • Time allocation, work behaviour and employment determination
  • Wages, compensation and labour costs
  • Labour-management relations, trade unions and collective bargaining
  • Work organization and the sociology of work
  • Productivity
  • Income and wealth distribution
  • Mobility, unemployment, labour force participation and vacancies
  • Gender, ethnicity, labour market segmentation and discrimination
  • Population and demography in respect of the labour market

While contributors to the AJLE are expected to demonstrate theoretical or empirical originality - and preferably both - they should make their work accessible to readers from a non-technical background. Survey articles are also encouraged. Further, as a means of strengthening the integration of theory and practice the AJLE welcomes reflective contributions from practitioners. The AJLE recognises that the areas of labour economics and labour relations are subject to controversy and aims to provide an arena for debate.

Please note: In 2014, CLMR will be administered through the University of Canberra and the Australian Journal of Labour Economics will be administered by the Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre, Curtin University.

2014 Editorial Information

Managing Editor

Phil Lewis, University of Canberra


Siobhan Austen, Curtin University
Anne Daly, University of Canberra
Alan Duncan, Curtin University
Boyd Hunter, Australian National University
Sholeh Maani, The University of Auckland

Editorial Assistant and Subscriptions Manager

Pat Madden, Curtin University

Editorial Board:

Garry Barrett, The University of Sydney
Bruce Bradbury, The University of New South Wales
William Brown, Cambridge University
John Burgess, The University of Newcastle
Bruce Chapman, The Australian National University
Deborah Cobb-Clark, The University of Melbourne
Anne Daly, University of Canberra
Peter Dawkins, Victoria University
Michael Dockery, Curtin University of Technology
Denise Doiron, The University of New South Wales
Paul Flatau, University of Western Australia
Bob Gregory, The Australian National University
Ann Harding, University of Canberra
Raja Junankar, University of New South Wales
John King, La Trobe University
William Mitchell, The University of Newcastle
Charles Mulvey, The University of Western Australia
Karen Mumford, University of York
Margaret Nowak, Curtin University
David Peetz, Griffith University
Jacques Poot, University of Waikato
Russell Ross, The University of Sydney
Elizabeth Savage, University of Technology, Sydney
Peter Siminski, University of Wollongong
Ken Wilson, National Research Foundation (UAE)
Mark Wooden, The University of Melbourne
Marie Claire Villeval, University of Lyon